The Board of Trustees governs the Pasadena Area Community College District. It is the policy-forming body of the District, deriving power from, and subject to, the U.S. Constitution, statutes of the State of California, and directives from the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges.

The Board consists of seven members, one from each of the seven trustee areas in the District. Qualified voters in each of the seven areas (which include Arcadia, a portion of El Monte, La Canada Flintridge, Pasadena, Rosemead, San Marino, Sierra Madre, South Pasadena, and Temple City) elect a trustee for a four-year term. The Superintendent-President of the District serves as Secretary to the Board.

The powers and duties of the Board include approval of college policy, community services of the college interpreting the college needs to the public, adoption of an annual budget for the district, approval of expenditure of all District funds, acquisition of property for District purposes, and approval of employment of academic and classified personnel.