Company Nurse Training Video Links
These videos show employees how to utilize Company Nurse's Nurse Triage Contact Center.
California law guarantees certain benefits to employees who are injured or become ill because of their jobs. Any job-related injury or illness is covered. Types of injuries include, but may not be limited to, strains, sprains, cuts, cumulative or repetitive traumas, fractures, illnesses and aggravations. Some injuries from voluntary, off duty, recreational, social or athletic activity may not be covered.
All work-related injuries must be reported to your supervisor immediately. There are time limits. If you wait too long, you may lose your right to benefits. The District has engaged Company Nurse (CN), an occupational injury triage service, to receive reports of work-related injuries and illness. A CN Injury Care Coordinator will assess the employee's condition and make referrals for medical care at home or to an urgent care location.
Company Nurse is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. For questions about CN, contact Risk Management at (626) 585-7177.
It is a misdemeanor for an employer to discriminate against worker’s who are injured on the job or who testify in another employee’s case. Any such employee may be entitled to compensation, reinstatement and reimbursement for lost wages and benefits.
Medical Care – In case of life or limb threatening injury, call 911 or go to the nearest emergency room, and report the incident to Risk Management afterwards.
For all other injuries, employees must inform their supervisor and contact CN (855) 339-1897. The CN Injury Care Coordinator will triage your condition and arrange medical treatment by medical professionals at care centers in our Provider Networks. If the employee predesignated their medical provider for treatment of workplace injurys, the employee may be seen by their medical provider.
Payment For Lost Wages – Employees temporarily disabled due to an on-the-job injury or illness, may receive tax-free income until they are able to released by their medical provider to return to work. Payments are two-thirds of the average salary, up to the maximum set by California state law. Payments aren’t made for the first three days unless the employee is hospitalized on an inpatient basis or unable to work more than 14 days. If the injury or illness results in permanent disability, additional payments will be made after recovery. If the injury results in death, benefits will be paid to eligible surviving dependents
If you have any questions regarding Worker's Compensation, contact Risk Management at (626) 585-7177.